BFG/BAOR/RAFG Locations

www.baor-locations.org
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
Latest topics
» Closing Down - Final Curtain and Lights Out
Yesterday at 23:15 by Pborn4

» BFG Drawdown letter Nov 2011
Yesterday at 22:46 by Pborn4

» BMH Re-visited
Yesterday at 22:32 by Pborn4

» Looking for pictures/info on BMH Rinteln
Yesterday at 22:29 by Pborn4

» 1947 Britannia shield cross country 5 mile
Yesterday at 21:11 by Pborn4

» Memories of Trenchard Barracks, Celle
16/11/2017, 19:19 by numnuts001

» Eckernfoerde
16/11/2017, 12:24 by alan8376

» B.A.O.R 5
15/11/2017, 19:57 by Norman

» 1947 FIRST ALLIED CROSS-COUNTRY 12 APRIL IN HANNOVER
14/11/2017, 14:21 by Pborn4

» BFN (BFBS)
14/11/2017, 09:31 by Chemist

» Sennelager?
12/11/2017, 15:49 by Norman

» Barker Bks, (prev. Panzer Viking!) Driburgerstr, Paderborn
12/11/2017, 13:37 by Pborn4

» 5th Royal Inniskilling Dragoon Guards
12/11/2017, 13:35 by Pborn4

» 4th/7th Royal Dragoon Guards
12/11/2017, 13:33 by Pborn4

» Blankenese
10/11/2017, 20:14 by Norman

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
Who is online?
In total there are 25 users online :: 1 Registered, 0 Hidden and 24 Guests :: 1 Bot

alan8376

Most users ever online was 144 on 31/12/2014, 23:57
November 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   
CalendarCalendar
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Barrack Room Inspection.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
cartav
Maj Gen
Maj Gen


Number of posts : 784
Age : 87
Localisation : s. yorks
Cap Badge : RA (ns) RA, R.Sigs, RE ( TAVR)
Places Served : Oswestry, Tonfanau, Woolwich, Osnabruck, MT School Bordon, Bulford, Manorbier, Hameln, R.Sigs Blandford, RSME Chattenden, Western Highlands.
Registration date : 2011-04-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   5/7/2011, 17:52

Going back a bit, but I remember a TV documentary about events in Normandy following D-Day. Chap there, a tankie, had been more than scathing about RMP but changed his mind & sang their praises when they were route-signing and taking heavy casualties at manned crossroads.

Guess nobody likes a copper until you need one..............i
Back to top Go down
View user profile
gingerjim
Col
Col


Number of posts : 487
Cap Badge : raoc
Places Served : blackdown brackley , belgium . viersen
Registration date : 2011-03-21

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   5/7/2011, 19:22

but when you ask the time their bloody watch has stopped,
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shelldrake
FM
FM
avatar

Number of posts : 3001
Localisation : Camberley
Cap Badge : Royal Artillery
Places Served : Troon, Lippstadt, Devizes, NI, Paderborn, Dortmund, Colchester, Belize, Canada, Cyprus, Gutersloh
Registration date : 2010-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   5/7/2011, 19:31

I recall that the RAF Police in Gutersloh would sit outside the Gunner Barracks waiting for an unsuspecting Grunt to stagger back to Camp, normally minding his own business. They would then win d him up until they had "Sufficient Evidence" to charge him with Insubordination, Drunkeness, Threatening Behaviour or some such other trumped up Charge. Fortunately the RSM got wise to this practice and put the SWO in the picture - it soon stopped. Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   5/7/2011, 19:52

A mate and me pissed the RAF police off.when we managed to break into the station with a large restaurant sign,during a security exercise.

Severe reps all round.

On the whole they were a lot more human than the monkeys. (no pun intended lol!
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   6/7/2011, 01:47

REDCAPS/COPPERS, like any profession, good and bad.

CIPHERS, you are a grand poet ! Nice verse that on the red caps. Yes they were in the thick of it sometimes. Many got killed/injured in the World Wars. Many Redcaps killed/injured in Iraq/Afghanistan.

Just my two bobs worth.

cheers
Back to top Go down
Stephen Lock
Maj Gen
Maj Gen
avatar

Number of posts : 937
Age : 64
Localisation : Calgary
Cap Badge : Pads Brat
Places Served : Father -- Canadian Army. Served Hemer, Soest, and Wetter
Registration date : 2007-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   6/7/2011, 17:52

Beachley Boy wrote:
Ah Barrack room inspections - I can remember..

STAND BY YOUR BEDS !

Wasn't that a song by Tammy Wynette?? Oh...sorry....that was Stand By Your Man....ooops. My bad!! lol!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   6/7/2011, 19:09

Quote :
Stand By Your Man

That was the command when the WRAC billets were raided by the monkeys Wink
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 05:58

Gordon. wrote:
Quote :
Stand By Your Man

That was the command when the WRAC billets were raided by the monkeys Wink

Raiding the WRAC billets? Female or Transsexual monkeys I hope! cheers
That would have been an exciting detail. affraid
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 06:07

Quote :
That would have been an exciting detail.

Wouldn`t know Les....I prefered the WRAF ladies,Though they had some funny ones too Embarassed
Back to top Go down
jimsigs1
Let Gen
Let Gen
avatar

Number of posts : 1298
Age : 83
Localisation : West of England
Cap Badge : Royal Signals
Places Served : Harrogate 1949-52. HQ BAOR Sig Regt 1952-54, Korea 1954-55, Egypt 1955, Cyprus 1955-57, HMS Santon 1957, UK 7th Hussars 1957-59, 1st Gds Bde 1959-60, 201 Signal Sqn 1960-62, 206 Sig Sqn 1962-63, 7 Sig Regt 1963-66, 249 Sig Sqn 1966-68, 11 Sig Regt 1968-72. Retired 1972
Registration date : 2010-02-22

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 09:38

QARANC for me, especially commissioned ones. That tender touch oooooooowwwwwaaa!!!!

Jimsigs1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shelldrake
FM
FM
avatar

Number of posts : 3001
Localisation : Camberley
Cap Badge : Royal Artillery
Places Served : Troon, Lippstadt, Devizes, NI, Paderborn, Dortmund, Colchester, Belize, Canada, Cyprus, Gutersloh
Registration date : 2010-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 10:24

And me, they had a certain fragrance and confidence about them. Embarassed Embarassed
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 10:34

Yep....rubbing alcohol, lol!
Back to top Go down
Shelldrake
FM
FM
avatar

Number of posts : 3001
Localisation : Camberley
Cap Badge : Royal Artillery
Places Served : Troon, Lippstadt, Devizes, NI, Paderborn, Dortmund, Colchester, Belize, Canada, Cyprus, Gutersloh
Registration date : 2010-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 14:53

And the smell of starch on those funny hats they wore.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
brum
FM
FM


Number of posts : 2808
Age : 76
Localisation : Sandbach Cheshire
Cap Badge : RA/QOH
Places Served : JLRRA (Hereford) Nienburg Paderborn Colchester Munster Maresfield (Cyprus) Hohne Hemer Op Banner x4 Woolwich
Registration date : 2010-03-02

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 15:06


I never forget the time we came out of the desert at RAF El Adem and clapped our eyes on a couple of RAF nurses.

How come the brylcreem always seem to have better kit than WE did ? confused
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shelldrake
FM
FM
avatar

Number of posts : 3001
Localisation : Camberley
Cap Badge : Royal Artillery
Places Served : Troon, Lippstadt, Devizes, NI, Paderborn, Dortmund, Colchester, Belize, Canada, Cyprus, Gutersloh
Registration date : 2010-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 15:29

Need to go and have a lie down! NURSE...........................
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shelldrake
FM
FM
avatar

Number of posts : 3001
Localisation : Camberley
Cap Badge : Royal Artillery
Places Served : Troon, Lippstadt, Devizes, NI, Paderborn, Dortmund, Colchester, Belize, Canada, Cyprus, Gutersloh
Registration date : 2010-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   7/7/2011, 15:39

Every Positive has a Negative! Just remembered MATRON, FFS, Ex Ranker with a 5 O'Clock shadow and a bedside manner guaranteed to dampen any ardour quicker than 3 spoonsful of Bromide. Arrrrgghhhh. Sad Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Teabag
Maj Gen
Maj Gen
avatar

Number of posts : 960
Age : 67
Localisation : Merseyside
Cap Badge : Royal Signals
Places Served : Wildenrath Detmold
Registration date : 2008-10-30

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   8/7/2011, 20:33

Went to a New Years eve party at my RMP mates flat. Things were getting a bit out of hand and I suggested to my mate that someone might call the RMP's. "Do them no good, he replied, they are all here".
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cartav
Maj Gen
Maj Gen


Number of posts : 784
Age : 87
Localisation : s. yorks
Cap Badge : RA (ns) RA, R.Sigs, RE ( TAVR)
Places Served : Oswestry, Tonfanau, Woolwich, Osnabruck, MT School Bordon, Bulford, Manorbier, Hameln, R.Sigs Blandford, RSME Chattenden, Western Highlands.
Registration date : 2011-04-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   8/7/2011, 22:41

When our Sapper Sqn. flew to Hannover in a RAF VC10, Autumn of 1977, the lads took a collection for the driver. The female acting as Service trolley dolly took it up to the front end after landing.......

It amounted to around £5 in small change, 96 Pesetas, 2 gaming machine tokens, three bottle tops & a pair of WRAF knickers.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   8/7/2011, 23:44

So who got the trolley dolly`s knickers???YOU???? Embarassed
Back to top Go down
jimsigs1
Let Gen
Let Gen
avatar

Number of posts : 1298
Age : 83
Localisation : West of England
Cap Badge : Royal Signals
Places Served : Harrogate 1949-52. HQ BAOR Sig Regt 1952-54, Korea 1954-55, Egypt 1955, Cyprus 1955-57, HMS Santon 1957, UK 7th Hussars 1957-59, 1st Gds Bde 1959-60, 201 Signal Sqn 1960-62, 206 Sig Sqn 1962-63, 7 Sig Regt 1963-66, 249 Sig Sqn 1966-68, 11 Sig Regt 1968-72. Retired 1972
Registration date : 2010-02-22

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   9/7/2011, 01:47

How did he know they were WRAF knickers ? Is there an identifying label or part number.
Thought the service girls wore their own civvy types. !! I know because I married a WRAC girl (50 years ago)

Jimsigs1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   9/7/2011, 06:45

The trolley dolly`s would probably be the only femals on the flight.The service number would be stamped on the rear end.. lol!
Back to top Go down
Shelldrake
FM
FM
avatar

Number of posts : 3001
Localisation : Camberley
Cap Badge : Royal Artillery
Places Served : Troon, Lippstadt, Devizes, NI, Paderborn, Dortmund, Colchester, Belize, Canada, Cyprus, Gutersloh
Registration date : 2010-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   9/7/2011, 08:05

A lot of them didn't wear knickers (I heard). Shocked
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cartav
Maj Gen
Maj Gen


Number of posts : 784
Age : 87
Localisation : s. yorks
Cap Badge : RA (ns) RA, R.Sigs, RE ( TAVR)
Places Served : Oswestry, Tonfanau, Woolwich, Osnabruck, MT School Bordon, Bulford, Manorbier, Hameln, R.Sigs Blandford, RSME Chattenden, Western Highlands.
Registration date : 2011-04-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   9/7/2011, 08:10

My sister was a WAAF ....... i.e for you kids the name preceded WRAF. Whilst it is true to say that the majority of female service personnel wore their own nether garments (as did most males, from memory ) in former times there were certainly issue items which were of the Passion Killer variety. These both protected when worn and amused when displayed for public inspection. I have no first hand knowledge of 1970's Service female underwear, though my familiarity with the civilian garments of similar function is extensive. Even now !

Back to top Go down
View user profile
cartav
Maj Gen
Maj Gen


Number of posts : 784
Age : 87
Localisation : s. yorks
Cap Badge : RA (ns) RA, R.Sigs, RE ( TAVR)
Places Served : Oswestry, Tonfanau, Woolwich, Osnabruck, MT School Bordon, Bulford, Manorbier, Hameln, R.Sigs Blandford, RSME Chattenden, Western Highlands.
Registration date : 2011-04-26

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   9/7/2011, 08:40

Back to inspections (of a sort, if not barrack room)........... That flight to Hannover was memorable. My cousin was a pilot with 10 Sqn., when he heard we we using them he arranged for me to be called forward to the cockpit for the flight. The RAF VC10's had a VIP seat behind the two pilots, I took post there & was given a headset to listen to all the chat that went on, but missed the hilarity in the passenger area.

It was unfortunate that the German baggage handlers were on strike, so we had to unload our own kit and transport it to Hameln in our advance party 4 tonners. All was going well until the last truck pulled up. Driver backed up, getting as close to the cargo bay as possible. Too close. Back of RL made contact with one of those floppy bits on the trailing edge of the wing, it didn't go unnoticed.

Until then we'd had a reasonably good relationship with our RAF contacts, this changed things. To say they weren't chuffed is putting it mildly. Sqn Ldr. pilot screamed blue murder, you'd have thought the VC 10 was his personal property rather than just something he had on temporary charge. "That effing truck goes nowhere until I've had a full inspection!" he raved.......... (This is the promised inspection bit.........). And so it was. Rest went off to Hameln & a meal, I stayed with the RL, subdued driver, the VC10 & silent RAF types until mechanical experts tugged at ailerons and made sure they weren't about to drop off. The FMT3 was an unusual one. Not many accident reports have sketches of airfield perimeter strips and big aeroplanes...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
gingerjim
Col
Col


Number of posts : 487
Cap Badge : raoc
Places Served : blackdown brackley , belgium . viersen
Registration date : 2011-03-21

PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   9/7/2011, 19:07

not like our draws cellular for the use of , ginger
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Barrack Room Inspection.   

Back to top Go down
 
Barrack Room Inspection.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Barrack Room Inspection.
» Barrack Room Damages
» I Like to show you all my room
» Help Me Understand....why a undiscovered room is found in a house!!!
» Inspection/Inspectorate Committee

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
BFG/BAOR/RAFG Locations :: Memories of National Service-
Jump to: