BFG/BAOR/RAFG Locations
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BFG/BAOR/RAFG Locations

www.baor-locations.org
 
HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  
Latest topics
Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
Who is online?
In total there are 13 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 13 Guests :: 3 Bots

None

Most users ever online was 223 on 22/1/2021, 18:16
January 2023
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
CalendarCalendar
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

 

 The Final Inspection

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
jerry
WOI
WOI
jerry


Number of posts : 186
Age : 82
Localisation : Abergele
Cap Badge : RASC/RCT
Places Served : Dortmund/Hameln/ Malaya FARELF Marchwood Aldershot Yeovil
Registration date : 2008-10-04

The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime16/11/2011, 18:48

I picked this up on Facebook

THE FINAL INSPECTION

The soldier stood and faced God,
Which must always come to pass.
He hoped his shoes were shining,
Just as brightly as his brass.

'Step forward now, you soldier,
How shall I deal with you ?
Have you always turned the other cheek ?
To My Church have you been true?'

The soldier squared his shoulders and said,
'No, Lord, I guess I ain't.
Because those of us who carry guns,
Can't always be a saint.

I've had to work most Sundays,
And at times my talk was tough.
And sometimes I've been violent,
Because the world is awfully rough.

But, I never took a penny,
That wasn't mine to keep...
Though I worked a lot of overtime,
When the bills got just too steep.

And I never passed a cry for help,
Though at times I shook with fear.
And sometimes, God, forgive me,
I've wept unmanly tears.

I know I don't deserve a place,
Among the people here.
They never wanted me around,
Except to calm their fears.

If you've a place for me here, Lord,
It needn't be so grand.
I never expected or had too much,
But if you don't, I'll understand.

There was a silence all around the throne,
Where the saints had often trod.
As the soldier waited quietly,
For the judgment of his God.

'Step forward now, you soldier,
You've borne your burdens well.
Walk peacefully on Heaven's streets,
You've done your time in Hell.'

Author Unknown~
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest




The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime16/11/2011, 22:56

Had that on my site for over a year now.
Back to top Go down
brum
FM
FM



Number of posts : 2808
Age : 82
Localisation : Sandbach Cheshire
Cap Badge : RA/QOH
Places Served : JLRRA (Hereford) Nienburg Paderborn Colchester Munster Maresfield (Cyprus) Hohne Hemer Op Banner x4 Woolwich
Registration date : 2010-03-02

The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime17/11/2011, 10:37

Gordon. wrote:
Had that on my site for over a year now.

It's Yank, no doubt. Rolling Eyes
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest




The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime17/11/2011, 10:47

Canadian i think, Brum.
Back to top Go down
jerry
WOI
WOI
jerry


Number of posts : 186
Age : 82
Localisation : Abergele
Cap Badge : RASC/RCT
Places Served : Dortmund/Hameln/ Malaya FARELF Marchwood Aldershot Yeovil
Registration date : 2008-10-04

The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime17/11/2011, 11:51

brum wrote:
Gordon. wrote:
Had that on my site for over a year now.

It's Yank, no doubt. Rolling Eyes
Now you mention it it does have smacks of the "Deck of Cards" Very Happy
Back to top Go down
ciphers
Maj Gen
Maj Gen
ciphers


Number of posts : 978
Age : 89
Localisation : Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada V2S 7C5
Cap Badge : Royal Signals
Places Served : Catterick (1951) - BAOR (1952 -1954)-(Herford - Bunde - Munster) - Japan (Kure) - Korea (Pusan - Seoul) - Cyprus (Nicosia) - Suez Op (1st Guards Brigade) - UK (63 Sigs Regt TA, Southampton)
Registration date : 2008-06-30

The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime17/11/2011, 16:51

Originally written by an American Ranger Sgt .. although some of the later postings of it have been 're written' to reflect different services .. there is also a second verse to it.

Len (Ciphers)
Back to top Go down
http://lenpayne.com/Len_Payne/Jim_Chapman.html
ciphers
Maj Gen
Maj Gen
ciphers


Number of posts : 978
Age : 89
Localisation : Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada V2S 7C5
Cap Badge : Royal Signals
Places Served : Catterick (1951) - BAOR (1952 -1954)-(Herford - Bunde - Munster) - Japan (Kure) - Korea (Pusan - Seoul) - Cyprus (Nicosia) - Suez Op (1st Guards Brigade) - UK (63 Sigs Regt TA, Southampton)
Registration date : 2008-06-30

The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime17/11/2011, 19:36


Final Inspection .... Part II

I'm very saddened by America today,
when they take credit for what others say.

I wrote a poem because of problems in my past,
how was I to know that it was going to last.

It has been read by all and loved the same,
but indeed at the end there is no name.

The name is simple for those who know,
it's not Kilmer, Longfellow, Service, or Poe.

It's a soldier who has fought for his country so true,
He's proud of the ole Red, White and Blue.

You now know the poem the one and the same,
The Final Inspection is the name.

I wrote it because of the trials so true,
and of my buddies who died for country and you.

So take this poem, take it as you trod,
because in Heaven I'll see my God.

He will look at me and say don't be sad,
others read your poem and you made them glad.

Now step forward my son and look your best,
and come inside with all the rest.


MUST VISIT WEBSITE: The Final Inspection by: Sgt Joshua Helterbran

Len (Ciphers)
Back to top Go down
http://lenpayne.com/Len_Payne/Jim_Chapman.html
Hardrations
Let Gen
Let Gen
Hardrations


Number of posts : 1062
Localisation : Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Cap Badge : RC Sigs (RTG Op) / CF Logistics (Cook)
Places Served : Germany, Egypt, Cyprus, CFS Alert and some other strange places
Registration date : 2007-12-16

The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime17/11/2011, 21:49

It would never have been written by a Canadian. The Canadian Govt won't let God recognize Canadian Soldier as being worthy of being cared for. clown
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





The Final Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Final Inspection   The Final Inspection Icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
The Final Inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Barrack Room Inspection.
» Site Guard
» Berlin Train Final trip
» Final Installment 27 CIB The return to Canada
» Nearly Closed - Final Curtain & Lights Out-Back On again

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
BFG/BAOR/RAFG Locations :: General-
Jump to: